Eyes on the Stars

Speculative fiction has a tremendous power to inspire, offering readers a tantalizing glimpse of the possible (or impossible) realities out there and instilling a drive to discover, explore, and create. Certainly many people have had their interest in science, history, mathematics, etc. kindled by SF. But just as inspiring can be the alternate social perspectives that SF offers its audience, as seen below:

I figured that was a story worth sharing.

In my case, it was actually my father’s work in astrophysics that kindled my interest in science fiction. I grew up seeing all these amazing images of distant stars and galaxies and I wanted to go visit them! Science fiction let me do that. (This may also explain why my preferred subgenre of science fiction has always been Space Opera.)

Leave a Reply

